SHOCKTOBER HORRORTHON films 25 – 27

vlcsnap-2016-10-22-14h55m44s724.png

25. The Rocky Horror Picture Show: Let’s Do The Time Warp Again (2016, Kenny Ortega)

Full disclosure – The original Rocky Horror is one of  my favourite films. That, however, has no bearing on how much I hate this anaemic, sexless, sanitised and wretched remake.

vlcsnap-2016-10-22-15h05m31s857.png

Let’s get the good out of the way first. It’s lovely to see Tim Curry back on screen after his stroke a few years back, although the part of the narrator has been understandably cut down to just a few lines.

vlcsnap-2016-10-22-15h31m17s941.png

And the other good thing – Adam Lambert. I think this guy is from X-Factor or something, which would normally set alarm bells ringing. However, his brief moment singing Hot Patootie is literally the only time the film comes even close to replicating the manic energy inherent in every frame of the original.

vlcsnap-2016-10-22-15h06m22s657.png

The cast is just all wrong. Where Barry Bostwick brought a wonderful all-American confidence to Brad, Ryan McCartan simply some across as a stuttering nerd. Laverne Cox as Frank-n-Furter decides to distinguish her performance from Curry’s by stripping all the attitude and camp menace from it. Reeve Carney plays it safe by simply doing a by-the-numbers Richard O’Brien cosplay. Victoria Justice as Janet looks good in her underwear.

vlcsnap-2016-10-22-15h20m19s408.png

But the main problem with this film is it’s songs.

And for a musical, that’s one hell of an issue.

The songs themselves are, of course, wonderful. But the bloodless productions sap all the life out of them. Meanwhile, everyone seems to be singing the songs, but not acting them. In a musical, the songs are how the characters express themselves. Here, the prevailing motto seems to be ‘why sing one note when you can sing eight?’ Every song is bludgeoned to death with show-offy vocal acrobatics at the expense of the actual performance.

‘Head’ becomes ‘He-ee-yeah-ee-yeah-ee-ed’. It’s the modern way I guess. Personally, I prefer emotion over technical ability.

vlcsnap-2016-10-22-15h36m59s000.png

I don’t really know who this is for. Fans of the original will surely hate it for the liberties it takes. Young folk will be left scratching their heads and wondering who the fuck Charles Atlas and Michael Rennie are.

Maybe if we all just ignore it, it’ll go away.

Screen Shot 2016-10-22 at 12.23.31.png

vlcsnap-2016-10-21-23h45m13s377.png

26. Deadly Eyes (1982, Robert Clouse)

Deadly Eyes is the movie adaptation of James Herbert’s The Rats. Transplanting the action to Toronto, uh, sorry, I mean “New York“, it’s a solid little b-movie time-waster.

vlcsnap-2016-10-21-23h45m32s357.png

The good news – Scatman Crothers is in it!

The bad news – he gets eaten by rats in the first twenty minutes!

vlcsnap-2016-10-22-12h14m20s830.png

The rats themselves are at their best when kept in the shadows, played as they are by small dogs in rat costumes.

Seriously, guys.

Here’s some more things I enjoyed.

vlcsnap-2016-10-22-11h22m14s078.png

The hero’s terribly unflattering brown leather jacket.

vlcsnap-2016-10-22-11h57m40s695.png

The fact that the climax takes place during a screening of Bruce Lee’s Game of Death.

vlcsnap-2016-10-22-11h52m05s445.png

And this pose, which is supposed to be seductive but looks like something out of The Exorcist.

vlcsnap-2016-10-22-12h06m32s174.png

You’ve seen better, you’ve seen worse, but sometimes you just want to see an evil mayor eaten by rats, and on that score, this film delivers.

I ALSO WATCHED…

vlcsnap-2016-10-21-22h04m35s105.png

27. Blood Rage (1987, John Grissmer)

I had high hopes for Blood Rage. I had heard that it was a craptacular bit of nonsense to rival JP Simon’s legendary Pieces, and for about 20 minutes it is just that.

vlcsnap-2016-10-22-12h34m53s946.png

Unlike Pieces though, which sustains it’s absurd invention throughout, Blood Rage just gets real boring real fast.

vlcsnap-2016-10-22-12h36m23s564.png

Despite being one of the goriest slasher movies of the 80s, much of the movie is spent focussing on Louise Lasser as the mother of the killer.

Never have I wanted so badly for a character to die.

vlcsnap-2016-10-22-12h36m47s935.png

She spends the whole film dressed like a 3 year old, her grating voice like nails down a blackboard, weeping a tortured monologue down the phone.

vlcsnap-2016-10-22-12h35m13s575.png

One to avoid.

 

This entry was posted in movie reviews, Shocktober and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to SHOCKTOBER HORRORTHON films 25 – 27

  1. lysette says:

    I’m doing my part by continually forgetting they even remade RHPS. I utterly loathe musicals (a total anomaly for someone who works in theatre) all of them -except- I fucking love Rocky Horror passionately!! Even the stills of it made me go ‘nononononononowhywhohownow?’ sigh. Not just small dogs in rat costumes but dachshunds! The strangest of all the dog breeds! Ironically, dachshunds are ideal dogs for hunting rats. Hahaha, let alone the eroticism of stacked up milk blue milk crates and her greying panties. I agree comparing Blood Rage to Pieces does unfairly set the bar too high, I still have a soft spot for it and I love the soundtrack!

    Like

    • Blood Rage’s soundtrack was ace, I’ll give you that. But they used the best track in the first 10 minutes and never played it again!
      As for musicals, you must like Phantom of the Paradise, no? Or is it specifically the ‘burst into song’ type that you dislike?
      I love musicals. I even went to a sing along Sound of Music once.

      Like

  2. lysette says:

    Good point, I do love Phantom of the Paradise. I prefer theatre with music rather than music with theatre. I do feel jarred out of the story when they break into song but Rocky Horror is so over the top all the way through it works for me, or indoctrinated me at a young age. Never watched Sound of Music, if I gave it a chance I might like it. I worked on Fiddler on the Roof and grew to love that one but never seen the film version. I hate Grease cause I was stuck on a high school theatre trip with everyone on the bus singing along and that trip was to see Showboat which I also hated… I think I’m seeing a pattern. Thank you for this session, Dr David 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

